DF & GF Roasted Squash & Pepper Soup

Since I already have a traditional cream based pumpkin soup recipe on this blog, I thought I’d change the flavors a bit with this vegan soup recipe. I had a very large winter squash from my mom’s garden (actually I had four, but I gave two away) and wasn’t quite sure what to do with them.

Photo Credit: V. R. Roadifer

Roasted Squash & Pepper Soup

Last night I sliced one in quarters, pulled the guts and seeds out of it, sprinkled it with olive oil, salt and pepper, and tossed it in the oven on a baking sheet for nearly 2 hours at 350* (turning it over half way through). Once it cooled down, I peeled it and pureed it in my food processor. I dumped it in a bowl and refrigerated it for use today. I ended up with exactly four cups of cooked squash so that’s what I used in this recipe.

4 cups roasted, pureed winter squash
3 cups unsweetened almond milk
1 medium onion, rough chopped
1 orange or yellow bell pepper, rough chopped
1 clove garlic, sliced
1 Tbs olive oil or grapeseed oil
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp salt (or more to taste)
Black pepper to taste

In bottom of large pot, add oil, onion and peppers. Cook until peppers are soft. Add garlic and one cup of almond milk. Cook until garlic is soft. Remove from heat and pour into the food processor. Return pureed onion and pepper to the pot, add squash, the rest of almond milk, nutmeg, ginger and salt. Add pepper to taste once it’s warmed through. Simmer on low for about 20 minutes.

If I make this recipe again, I’d roast the onion and pepper in the oven along with the squash to add more depth of flavor.

About The Objective Nutritionist

The Objective Nutritionist is a human nutrition graduate student with many food allergies and sensitivities. She enjoys creating and sharing great tasting recipes that fit her lifestyle, discussing food related topics, and educating people on how best to meet their individual nutritional needs from an evidence based perspective.
This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Soup, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

