Dairy Free Hazelnut Hot Chocolate

My months on Prednisone had the remarkable side-effect of decreasing my sensitivity to chocolate. Yay! I’m not pushing my luck and keeping my chocolate fixes small but one of my new vices is hazelnut hot chocolate sweetened with agave nectar. I call it “comfort in a cup.” Any dairy free milk can be used, almond hot chocolate is delicious, but hazelnut is my favorite. I always check ingredients and make sure I buy dairy free milks without added cane sugar since I’m so sensitive to it. The hazelnut milk I buy is lightly sweetened with brown rice syrup.

4 cups hazelnut milk
6 Tbs agave nectar
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

In a small bowl, whisk together agave and cocoa powder until it forms a paste. In a medium pot warm the hazelnut milk. Add agave and cocoa powder. Stir until agave has melted and ingredients are well combined. Heat until steaming but not boiling, stirring often. Ladle into cups and enjoy!

About The Objective Nutritionist

The Objective Nutritionist is a human nutrition graduate student with many food allergies and sensitivities. She enjoys creating and sharing great tasting recipes that fit her lifestyle, discussing food related topics, and educating people on how best to meet their individual nutritional needs from an evidence based perspective.
This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Drinks, Gluten Free, Sugar Free, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dairy Free Hazelnut Hot Chocolate

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    This looks so good! Hazelnut and chocolate are one of my favorite flavor combos!

Leave a Reply

