Cilantro-Lime Polenta

I have a gorgeous cilantro plant in my garden that’s been calling for me to use the leaves in something fabulous. The other day I planned to make cilantro-lime rice to go with my chicken breasts stewed in tomatillo salsa but I didn’t feel well enough to cook at dinner. Today I decided instead of rice I’d make polenta. It was a good choice. It’s simple yet flavorful and good enough that I could eat a bowl of it for dinner (I didn’t since I need protein with every meal but it was tempting).

3 cups water
1 cup polenta (or grits)
4 stalks of green onion, finely sliced
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
1 Tbs olive oil
1/2 tsp salt
juice of two limes
zest of one lime

In a medium pot, bring water and salt to a boil. Slowly stir in the polenta and lower to a simmer. Place a lid on the pot and allow to cook for 15-20 minutes, stirring often to avoid it sticking or burning on the bottom. Once the polenta is creamy and cooked through, remove from heat and stir in the olive oil, lime juice, lime zest, cilantro and green onions.

About The Objective Nutritionist

The Objective Nutritionist is a human nutrition graduate student with many food allergies and sensitivities. She enjoys creating and sharing great tasting recipes that fit her lifestyle, discussing food related topics, and educating people on how best to meet their individual nutritional needs from an evidence based perspective.
This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Side Dish, Specialized Diets, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cilantro-Lime Polenta

  1. Playful foodist says:

    Polenta is one of my favorites lately… Such a quick meal!

Leave a Reply

