Gluten Free Eggplant Parmesan

My new supplement heavy treatment plan is working and my systemic inflammation has decreased significantly. I’m slowly adding foods I was sensitive to back into my diet without any adverse reactions. I’ve reacted to tomatoes off and on for more than a decade so I was especially happy to be able to eat them. Tomato sauce was a staple in my diet for years and I’ve missed it.

One of my favorite Italian dishes is Eggplant Parmesan so I picked up ingredients to make a healthier version of it at the store last week. After reading labels on half a dozen commercially prepared pasta sauces I found Francesco Rinaldi ToBe Healthy Garlic & Onion Pasta Sauce on sale. I liked the simple ingredients without added sugar and it tastes like something I’d make at home if my health was more stable.

I coated my eggplant slices in egg and seasoned flax meal and baked them instead of frying. I’ve tried this method in the past but was unable to get that crispy coating that comes with frying. This time I used a baking rack on top of the cookie sheet and generously sprayed olive oil cooking spray on the eggplant slices. They turned out perfectly crunchy and I didn’t miss all that extra oil in the completed dish.

1 eggplant, peeled & sliced 1/2 inch thick
2 eggs
1 cup Parmesan cheese, shredded
1 cup flax meal
1 Tbs dried thyme
1/2 Tbs dried oregano
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
Olive oil cooking spray
16 oz pasta sauce

Preheat oven to 350*F. In two shallow dishes (I use pasta bowls but pie pans work well), beat eggs in one and combine flax meal, half cup of Parmesan cheese, thyme, oregano, salt and black pepper in the other. Prepare a sheet pan with parchment paper or foil (for easier clean-up) and a baking/cooling rack. Dip each eggplant slice in the egg, turning them over with a fork. Move each slice to the seasoned flax meal and coat each side with the mixture. Gently set the coated slices on the baking rack. Before putting in the oven, generously spray both sides of each slice of eggplant with olive oil cooking spray. Bake for 30 minutes, turning them over halfway through. Remove from oven. In a medium sized casserole dish, spoon a thin layer of pasta sauce on the bottom. Layer eggplant slices and pasta sauce until all the eggplant is used. Top with the last of the pasta sauce and the half cup of Parmesan cheese held in reserve. Bake casserole in the oven for another 30 minutes.

About The Objective Nutritionist

The Objective Nutritionist is a human nutrition graduate student with many food allergies and sensitivities. She enjoys creating and sharing great tasting recipes that fit her lifestyle, discussing food related topics, and educating people on how best to meet their individual nutritional needs from an evidence based perspective.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Main Course, Specialized Diets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

